A little pre-Christmas trip with my pre-schooler

And just like that BAM Christmas is over. With all the build up, excitement and most successful bribery tool (Santa wont come) gone for another year. I hope you all had lovely ones and that Santa did come!

Just before Christmas hit this year, my mum and I took little miss s to Norway to see my sister in the ballet, it was a girly trip, the first time that I have taken her anywhere on my own, the first proper time of leaving master R and her first time on a plane. And in true little miss s style she made it a trip to remember…

Her first little moment came when her bag had to go through the scanner…cue screams of “no, no, Elsa, Anna no, no my bag” along with tears, her little figures were in her bag and in her defence she had carried it all morning. I was however obviously distracted by these screams and left my phone in my back pocket so instead of being able to comfort her I was promptly frisked. Now, I have been frisked before, this frisk took on a whole new level – the lady was very thorough even to the point of feeling a little violated (hands in waistband!). It only took 5 minutes but the reason for this frisk soon became very clear for not only was little miss s harbouring Frozen figures but I apparently had forgotten to check my bag – a bag given to me to use by my own father. For in the side pocket of said bag was a serrated edged flip knife – yep a fully fledged flip knife Bear Grylls would be proud of. Cue red faces, stuttering from me and my mum and the knife was disposed of, they then proceeded to drug swab the bag… thank god I didn’t learn anything else about my Dad that day!!

Little miss s got over the security ordeal pretty quick and throughout the trip continued to entertain us, she sang at the top of her voice in the departure lounge, she has a little bit of a Jesus obsession at the moment so Away in a Manger was on repeat. We then boarded the plane and she was asking about the pictures on the back of the seat, “mum can we do that in a minute, can we do that in a minute” I explained that all of those things happened in an emergency and that we didn’t really want one… cue little miss s assuming the brace position! She full on copied the card and was ready to brace, her innocence and excitement was contagious and after initially worrying about keeping her entertained for 2 hours in one place we had a great time and I even managed to keep the iPad in the bag!

Once we had arrived in Norway she was amazed by the snow and her selective hearing seemed to worsen, mum and I could have walked off and left her, she wouldn’t have a clue, she was in her own little ‘Frozen’ heaven oblivious to everything. It was when we took her to the Ballet that she really went into her own world – my elder sister (the ballerina one!) had arranged for us to go back stage before we saw the performance of the Nutcracker. Little miss s, full strut followed Em round like a pro, she was treated to some glitter by the make up department before being allowed on the actual stage (at this point I was very glad that I was her mum – I mean I wouldn’t get this type of treatment, where kid goes, mum goes!!). Throughout the performance she was mesmerised and as we were in our own box pretended she was a ballerina tip-toeing back and for. Mind you, we very nearly missed it as in true little miss s style she decided she needed the loo just before curtain up… we ran, very fast! It was her very first experience of Ballet and she loved it – Auntie Em is her new hero and has actually achieved Elsa status in our house, for when little miss s wears her Elsa dress we get told “I am not S, I am Elsa” and when she wears her tutu we get “I am not S, I am Emma”.

The trip was a huge success, I was initially worried that after having so much attention for four days she would be the she beast when we got home, but in actual fact she has been the opposite. She has been kind(ish) to her brother, done what she has been told(ish) and has generally behaved more grown up (well, less like a stroppy two year old!). Although over night she seems to have developed a bit of an attitude and the ‘little miss s’isms’ have been coming thick and fast, my favourite so far… (whilst on the loo) “ah mum, you carry on playing I may be a while” my little girl is growing up and quickly.

The next trip away is planned for June, this time both Dan and master R will be tagging along, we’ll see how calm that plane journey is!!

my little travel buddy

my little travel buddy

the kid, the mum and the alpha mum!

the kid, the mum and the alpha mum!

my sister, the cover girl!

my sister, the cover girl!

opera house selfie

opera house selfie

on stage being shy (for once!)

on stage being shy (for once!)

One thought on “A little pre-Christmas trip with my pre-schooler

Leave a Reply

